Tag Archive | breaking the spine

Waiting on Wednesday : Perfect Touch

rp_new-wow11111111111111111112.jpg

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Perfect Touch by Elizabeth Lowell

Publisher: William Morrow

Publication Date: July 28, 2015

Synopsis: The queen of romantic suspense returns with a heart-racing tale in which a former soldier turned rancher and a beautiful designer race to stop a vicious killer—a battle for survival that threatens to explode in an intense and irresistible passion

An art dealer and owner of her own design studio, Perfect Touch, Sarah “Sam” Maddox travels the world to find the ideal artwork for her clients. Her sophisticated, comfortable life in San Francisco is light years away from the poverty of her family’s dairy farm, and Sam will do whatever it takes to keep her business strong. A dedicated urban career woman focused on her work, she doesn’t have time or energy for a family or distracting romantic entanglements.

Jay Vermillion recently inherited Vermillion Sky, a working ranch near Wyoming’s breathtaking Grand Teton Mountains—and the estates of the rich and restless. While he was fighting in two wars, his father tried to keep the homestead running, until illness stole his fight and then his life. Jay’s determined to restore Vermillion Sky, but first he’s got to settle a vicious battle with his former stepmother over some of his late father’s paintings. The last thing on his mind is a finding a wife and creating a sixth generation of Vermillions.

When Jay hires Sam to handle his father’s artwork, it’s love at first sight—a mutually inconvenient attraction that is soon complicated by a double murder at the edge of the ranch and a potential betrayal even closer to home. Working together to unmask a murderer, Sam and Jay try to fight the intense heat between them. Then the killer targets Sam. And suddenly, Jay, the war-weary soldier, finds something he’s once again willing to die for .

Elizabeth Lowell book’s are always a treat to read and I know this one will be no different! 🙂 I can’t wait and luckily it is coming out next week. Sweet!

What are you waiting on this Wednesday?

Waiting on Wednesday: Dark Witch

New WoW

  Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Dark Witch cover

Dark Witch by Nora Roberts

Publication Date: November 5, 2013

Publisher: Berkely Trade

Synopsis:  With indifferent parents, Iona Sheehan grew up craving devotion and acceptance. From her maternal grandmother, she learned where to find both: a land of lush forests, dazzling lakes, and centuries-old legends.

Ireland. County Mayo, to be exact. Where her ancestors’ blood and magic have flowed through generations—and where her destiny awaits.

Iona arrives in Ireland with nothing but her Nan’s directions, an unfailingly optimistic attitude, and an innate talent with horses. Not far from the luxurious castle where she is spending a week, she finds her cousins, Branna and Connor O’Dwyer. And since family is family, they invite her into their home and their lives.

When Iona lands a job at the local stables, she meets the owner, Boyle McGrath. Cowboy, pirate, wild tribal horsemen, he’s three of her biggest fantasy weaknesses all in one big, bold package.

Iona realizes that here she can make a home for herself—and live her life as she wants, even if that means falling head over heels for Boyle. But nothing is as it seems. An ancient evil has wound its way around Iona’s family tree and must be defeated. Family and friends will fight with each other and for each other to keep the promise of hope—and love—alive…

Personal Thoughts: Ohh I can’t wait for this book to come out. I love Nora Robert’s and the fact that this is the start of a trilogy makes it even better.  Yey!

Waiting on Wednesday: The Beautiful and the Cursed

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
The Beautiful and the Cursed (The Dispossessed #1) by Page Morgan
Publication DateMay 14th 2013
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Synopsis: (Goodreads): Fans of Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series and Libba Bray’s Gemma Doyle trilogy will devour The Beautiful and the Cursed, a wholly original interpretation of gargoyle lore.It was bizarre and inexplicable, and after it happened, Ingrid Waverly was forced to leave her life in London behind. She had to trade a world full of fancy dresses and society events for exile in gothic Paris with her mother and her younger sister, Gabby.In Paris there are no grand balls or glittering parties, and disturbingly, the house rented by Ingrid’s twin brother, Grayson, isn’t a house at all. It’s an abbey.
A creepy, old abbey with a roof lined in stone gargoyles that could almost be mistaken for living, breathing creatures. And to top it all off, Grayson is missing.Yet no one seems to be concerned about Grayson’s whereabouts save for Luc, a devastatingly handsome servant who has some deep and dark secrets of his own. There’s one secret about the city that even Luc can’t keep hidden, though: there’s a murderer on the loose. And every day that Grayson is missing means there’s less chance he’s still alive.Ingrid is sure her twin isn’t dead—she can feel it deep in her soul—but she knows that he’s in grave danger, and that it’s up to her and Gabby to find him before all hope is lost. And yet the path to him is more dangerous than she could ever imagine.
Personal Thoughts: Before I even read the summary, my attention was captured because of what was on the cover: the Eiffel Tower. 🙂 After reading the summary I knew that I had to read the book. The plot sounds intriguing and mysterious. Luckily, I won’t have to wait too long since May 14 is just around the corner.

Waiting on Wednesday: Stripped

New WoWWaiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Stripped by Brooklyn Skye

Publication Date: May 14, 2013

Synopsis (Goodreads): College freshman Quinn Montgomery will do anything to avoid the mistake her sister made—killing herself over a boy. But when she is forced into nude modeling at a local college to support her family after a bankruptcy, she begins to crack, just enough to let Torrin, the university’s top varsity oarsman, see that the real Quinn is not as feisty and unapproachable as she wants everyone to think. But letting someone in comes at a steep cost and, it turns out, Torrin is connected to Quinn’s family in more ways than she could ever imagine.

Personal Thoughts: This sounds like it will be a great read. It sounds like it will be both dramatic and emotional. I’ve never heard of this author before, but I’m definitely going to give her book a try. The cover looks amazing as well 🙂

Waiting on Wednesday: Just One Year

Untitled-2

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

12842134Just One Year by Gayle Forman

Publication Date: October 2013

Publisher: Dutton Juvenile

Synopsis (Goodreads): “Can you fall in love in just one day? Can you become a new person? How about in just one year? In JUST ONE DAY and its companion novel JUST ONE YEAR, sheltered American good girl Allyson “LuLu” Healey and easygoing actor Willem De Ruiter are  about to find out against a guidebook-worthy array of foreign backdrops. Equal parts romance, coming-of-age-tale, mystery and travel romp (with settings that span from England’s Stratford upon Avon to Paris to Amsterdam to India’s Bollywood)  JUST ONE DAY and JUST ONE YEAR show how in looking for someone else, you just might wind up finding yourself.”

Personal Thoughts: The storyline sounds awesome 🙂 The cover looks great as well. Can’t wait until this comes out. It’s the sequel to Just One Day. This sounds like it will be a great adventure.

Waiting On Wednesday: Let the Sky Fall

New WoWWaiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Let The Sky Fall by Shannon Messenger

Publication Date: March 5, 2013

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Synopsis (Goodreads): Seventeen-year-old Vane Weston has no idea how he survived the category five tornado that killed his parents. And he has no idea if the beautiful, dark-haired girl who’s swept through his dreams every night since the storm is real. But he hopes she is.

Seventeen-year-old Audra is a sylph, an air elemental. She walks on the wind, can translate its alluring songs, and can even coax it into a weapon with a simple string of commands. She’s also a guardian—Vane’s guardian—and has sworn an oath to protect Vane at all costs. Even if it means sacrificing her own life.

When a hasty mistake reveals their location to the enemy who murdered both of their families, Audra’s forced to help Vane remember who he is. He has a power to claim—the secret language of the West Wind, which only he can understand. But unlocking his heritage will also unlock the memory Audra needs him to forget. And their greatest danger is not the warriors coming to destroy them—but the forbidden romance that’s grown between them.

Personal Thoughts: The great news is that it is coming out next Tuesday and that will be here before we know it! 🙂 I saw this cover a while back and it looks awesome. The plot sounds fascinating! It will be interesting to see the use of earth elements and how they fight back when bad guys show up on scene. This book has a lot of potential and it’s the start of series. You know me and my series. I sure do love them.